Algonquin District Award of Merit - nominate by 4/1/24

Fellow Algonquin Scouters:

The time of year has arrived to think about and act upon honoring exceptional Scouters. The annual District Award of Merit gives us all a tangible way to honor those exceptional Scouters. The District Award of Merit is a council award presented by districts in the same manner that the Silver Beaver Award is a national award presented by councils.

The District Award of Merit is meant to honor Scouters who render noteworthy service to youth of an outstanding nature at the district level. Such service may have been rendered to youth within Scouting, outside Scouting or both. (Please note that nominees must be registered Scouters.) The nature and value of “noteworthy service to youth” may consist of a single plan or actions that contributed to large numbers of youth or may have been given to a small group over an extended period of time. Consider a nominee’s Scouting position and the corresponding opportunity to render outstanding service beyond the expectations of that Scouting position. (Please note that nominations for Scouters who have already received this award are not appropriate and that nominations cannot be considered for posthumous awards.)

The Award Committee can only consider Scouters who have been formally nominated by their peers BEFORE the committee meets. The committee as a whole cannot make nominations. The nomination form is attached, as well as a scan of the lists of past recipients of the District Award of Merit. One list is alphabetical and the other list is chronological. We are deeply grateful to past District Chairman Ed Mann for the compilation of both lists.

Points of Information:

Deadline for nominations: APRIL 1

The attached lists of past recipients covers until 2021. Recipents of the District Award of Merit since 2021:


  • Andi Anderson
  • Diane Rovida


  • Scott Beechert
  • Donna Ricci

Submit nominations to: or

Paul Knudsvig
2 Onondaga Street
Rye, NY 10580

Yours in Scouting,

Paul Knudsvig
Algonquin District Award of Merit Committee Chair
I used to be a Fox and a Good Ol’ Staffer, too…
District Award of Merit, 2005
cell: 917-533-0821
Past Algonquin DAM Honorees to 2021.pdf (4.0 MB)
DAMform.pdf (95.6 KB)